judyc2.jpg (1717 bytes) Judy Stevenson (Cahn)

Bedales 1968-1973

Cambridge, English


Family

Married
Hugh Stevenson
Children
Mathew (12),
Catherine (8)
 
 
OB Siblings
Andrew
Alison

Occupation(s)

English Teacher, EFL teacher, Internet Programmer


Address

McLean, VA, USA  See
j-stevenson@worldnet.att.net

News/Message

"Hello, Old Bedalians and teachers. I'm sorry I couldn’t make it to the reunion. Instead I'm sending some photos of my family and a brief description of my history so far!

After leaving Cambridge in 1976, I worked as an English teacher for 10 years, mostly in schools in England but also for two years as an EFL teacher in France and U.S.A. In 1980 I married Hugh, whom I had met at university. He worked for Morgan Guaranty Bank and then for the Commonwealth Development Corporation in London.

In 1986 we moved to Washington D.C. when Hugh took a job with the international Finance corporation (IFC), which is part of the World Bank, We have been based here since then, although we spent the past 4 years in Eastern Europe on assignment - 1 year in Budapest and 3 years in Warsaw - rather a difficult assignment, but interesting! Now we are back at the central office in Washington and expect to stay here, unless Hugh should change job.

Generally I like living in America, although I do miss my family and some of the familiar features of English Life, in particular the sense of history all around you (old buildings, etc. ...) The Americans are very friendly and they love people with an English accent! The area where we live - actually in Northern Virginia, in a suburb of Washington D.C. -is very green and pleasant, with more space than you could find in most London suburbs! We usually come back to England about twice a year to keep in touch.

My two children are Matthew (12) and Catherine (8). Matthew is sports mad, as his photo indicates. His favourite sports are football, tennis and basketball. Catherine is keen on gymnastics and likes to sing. So they are not in competition too much, although they still manage to find things to fight over, like all siblings!

Hugh works as an Investment Officer for IFC, identifying and overseeing private sector projects in developing countries. Initially he worked for 5 years on Africa, especially Madagascar, but now he is in the Eastern European department, which is not quite so tough and also has the advantage of involving less extensive journeys.

When we came to the U.S., after staying at home with Matthew for a few years, I retrained in computer programming and worked part-time for 4 years as a database programmer in a small consultancy firm here. When we went to Eastern Europe I couldn't work outside the home but I was kept quite bus coping with long drives to the children's schools and the general hassle of everyday life over there. I even learnt a certain amount of 'survival Polish'.

Now we are back in Washington, I am taking some courses on Internet programming and hope to get some part-time work in that field. I like to spend quite a lot of time with my family and to be involved in my kids activities (sports and music especially), so I don’t want a full-time job.

Well, that gives you the general idea. We would be glad to see any of you who might be passing through Washington. If you come, bring your tennis racquet and swim sit, as we belong to a typically American 'Health Club' and will probably drag you along there/ I hope you have a great time at the reunion.

Love from Judy